Interview: Iva Gueorguieva on Her Work and Graphicstudio

Iva Gueorguieva works with Graphicstudio's Tim Baker on an etching
Iva Gueorguieva works with Graphicstudio’s Tim Baker on an etching
Artist Iva Gueorguieva talks technique and process in her printmaking with Julyssa Lopez for George Washington University’s GW Today blog. Iva has spent lots of time here at Graphicstudio over the last couple years. Read the full interview to find out more about her experience in printmaking at the studio. Excerpt below:

Q: How were you introduced to the printmaking process?
A: When I first toured Graphicstudio, the printmakers were amazing and they kept explaining how everything was made. It all seemed very complicated and remote and strange. It reminded me of a chemical lab in the movies—I kept trying to follow, but I wasn’t able to keep up with the jargon. I was also in complete awe of the way they handled paper and moved through this space filled with machinery. I was really scared because I didn’t know what to expect. Yet once I got there, it all revealed itself very organically. They would say, “Here’s a plate and if you make these marks, this is what’s going to happen.” I fully trusted the process.

The first piece I made was “Rolling Anvil.” I had made a collage construction in my studio just using fragments from my studio floor. I was working on a series of paintings about the relationship between me and my son, so this drawing was of three figures interlocking, like a triad. I’d sent it to Graphicstudio, and when I got there, the printmakers immediately said, “Let’s figure out how to make this image.”

Read more from the interview here: A Conversation with Artist Iva Gueorguieva

Iva’s work will be exhibiting at the Luther W. Brady Art Gallery on campus at George Washington University through May 3rd, 2013.

Find more work by Iva Gueorguieva produced at Graphicstudio

Iva Gueorguieva
 

Iva Gueorguieva
Rolling Anvil
, 2011
7-color direct gravure with drypoint, lithography, woodblock, silkscreen and chine collé collage elements
51 1/2″ x 35 1/2″
Edition: 20

Leave a Reply

